Connie’s Brave New World

connie

 

This is the first of what will be my weekly blog post  It is truly a new frontier for me.  I left the corporate world before the birth of Windows, laptops, Blackberries and Google and after years of standing in front of baking tables instead of a keyboard, I am just now trying to master emailing; blogging is, I hope, not totally out of my league!

 

I was never much of a baker before I went to cooking school, as a matter of fact I really steered clear of it.   While at school, I was finally exposed to bread baking for the  first time, I fell in love with the sheer beauty of it all.  From the deep, dark, blistered crust to the intoxicating aroma, I was an instant bread devotee.  There are few things more satisfying to me than creating a beautiful loaf of bread, from mixing to shaping, from proofing to scoring, to finally baking the loaf. Hearing the crackle of a perfectly baked boule as it comes out of the oven, as though it were applauding, is enough to hook one for life.

 

In the course of my postings I hope to encourage the timid (it is not nearly as complicated as you may think) and share ideas with the pros at home about our experiences with the dough.

 

Until next week….

2 Responses to “Connie’s Brave New World”


  1. 1 Johanna November 14, 2008 at 10:25 am

    I’m already looking forward to your dough experiences!

  2. 2 Katrina November 14, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Exciting, can’t wait to hear more. I love to bake bread, but am not really very good at it. Teach me, teach me.
    Was just in NYC last week, going to Levain was one of the two big reasons I was there! Love those cookies! I tested just about every chocolate chip cookie in NYC and voted yours the best!


Leave a Reply

Share your photos on our blog! Send them to us at:

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

